top of page

Child Psychiatrist /Adult Psychiatrist

A Guide to the 5 Levels of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

In a 1943 paper titled "A Theory of Human Motivation," American psychologist Abraham Maslow theorized that human decision-making is undergirded by a hierarchy of psychological needs. In his initial paper and a subsequent 1954 book titled Motivation and Personality, Maslow proposed that five core needs form the basis for human behavioral motivation.

Using iPad and electronic pencil in writing Hierarchy.

Hierarchy of Needs

Jump To Section

What Are the 5 Levels of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs?

Maslow's hierarchy of needs is a model for understanding the motivations for human behavior. It maps different motivations onto a pyramid, with each level representing a different human need. These include physiological needs, safety, love and belonging, esteem, and self-actualization.

Deficiency Needs vs. Growth Needs on Maslow’s Hierarchy

Want to Learn More About Business?

Chris Voss Teaches The Art of Negotiation

13 views0 comments


bottom of page